Skip to content
Northern Kentucky University logo

INKUBATOR

About the program · 4 linked sources

INKUBATOR is Northern Kentucky University's 12-week accelerator for students and alumni. The program page says that since the 2012 launch it has supported 69 teams, resulting in 47 business launches and $9.2 million in external funding. It identifies the program as the winner of the 2025 USASBE Model University Accelerator/Incubator Award.

Teams that pass a judging review present and may be selected into a cohort of six to eight. The page says teams focus on a business model, a team, and a prototype, attend weekly seminars, and finish by presenting to investors, entrepreneurs, and advisors. Mentors help build teams, often of about three people. Workspace in the Haile College of Business is free.

A person with an idea must be a current or recently graduated NKU student. Students without an idea can apply to join a selected team. The program page says it is open to any major.

Also known as: NKU INKUBATOR

How we know this: the figures on this page come from the linked sources (last verified 2026-10-08); what those sources do not state is left unknown.

Key numbers

Funding range

$5,000

Equity

Unknown

Application

Annual

Campus Wide

Last activity

2026-05-18

High confidence

Keep this on your radar Deadline reminders ↓

Reminders

INKUBATOR

Get an email before a director-verified deadline for this program, this school, or this state. The program never sees your address.

Student experiences · Read or add a note

Student notes

INKUBATOR

No posts yet.

    Post what happened. A .edu account is required. Your name and email stay off this page.

    Rating

    0/280

    Application and Timing

    The schedule printed on the program page is for 2025: idea submission February 25 through April 6, selection April 7 through April 11, and the program May 12 through August 1. The page did not show a 2026 calendar when captured. A May 18, 2026 news article says a current student is applying.

    Participants

    Current and recently graduated NKU students and alumni, any major. The bachelor's page describes the same accelerator for students in the Innovation and Entrepreneurship major.

    Funding and Equity

    Eligible teams can receive up to $5,000 in resources. The page does not define those resources as cash only, and it does not state an equity term.

    Recent Activity

    The February 2025 release reports the USASBE award and says the program had launched 43 businesses at that time. The May 18, 2026 article is later evidence that students were still applying. The 69-team and $9.2 million figures are the totals on the program page when captured.

    Known Startups or Winners

    The May 18, 2026 article names Sunny Sign Up LLC, a street-sign illumination device led by engineering physics student Dash Macke. The article says the company took third place and $5,000 at the Governor's School for Entrepreneurs College Pitch, and that Macke is applying to INKUBATOR to build a pilot. That $5,000 is the statewide prize, not an INKUBATOR award.

    Research gaps & things to verify

    Verification Gaps

    The program page still showed 2025 dates. Equity is not stated. The two launch counts, 43 in the February 2025 release and 47 on the later program page, are both reported as written. This listing is researched from public pages and is not a school-verified profile.

    Program details

    INKUBATOR

    Additional research notesShow